2022 Awards

Departmental Awards

Eyre Associates Award for Outstanding Achievement

The Eyre Associates award recognized an aerospace or mechanical engineering student who has demonstrated outstanding academic excellence throughout their undergraduate academic career. This award honors the Eyre Associates’ contributions over many years to the support and development of the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering


Victoria Malarczyk (AE)
Yifan Xue (ME)

The Tony Maxworthy Award

Professor Tony Maxworthey was a leading light in the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering from his arrival in 1967 to his passing in 2013. He was a Distinguished University Professor and recipient of numerous awards in his illustrious life, but he always drew considerable joy and satisfaction from teaching our undergraduate project labs. His research was always characterized by an elegance and incisiveness where any given experiment often proved to be the defining study of its time. This award is therefore given to the student work that most closely exemplifies this combination of experimental and analytical elegance for which “TMax” was famous.


Lance Mayhue
Jenna Matus
Kevin Moran
Aaron Chandra
Tomas Seager

Group project: Hybrid Rocket Group

The Laufer Prize for Outstanding Achievement

John Laufer was chairman for 19 years. He was an internationally known experimentalist in fluid mechanics and had an illustrious career at Cal Tech, NBS, and JPL in addition to USC. He was also instrumental in developing the Senior Experimental Projects Laboratory course (AME 441). This award was established in his honor to recognize the student(s) with the most outstanding project in the AME 441 course.


Charles Guo
Kirin Peterson
Mahmood Alfayoumi
Vihan Krishnan

Group project: Capsule Impact Group

The Bleeker Award for Superb Craftsmanship

Al Bleeker was an enthusiastic, dedicated supporter of undergraduate experimental studies. As a friend, technician, and teacher, AL counseled over two generations of laboratory students. This award for excellence and imagination in the design and construction of experiments during the senior year course is presented as a tribute to Al’s contributions.


Zachary Fujita
Michael Smat
Mark McDermott
Patrick Trunfio
Sean Cornish

Group: Pintle Spray Cones Group

AME Student Achievement Award for Outstanding Ingenuity and Performance

These awards are given to the students in the AME Senior Projects Laboratory who have shown outstanding ingenuity and performance in the design, construction, and testing of their senior project.


Andre Pipersburgh
Breece Phipps
Eduardo Avila
Ji Whon Michael Lee
Taylor Weiss

Group: Medusa

Hayley Piazza
Nick Bortolon
Hannah Sandeen
Drew Black

Group: Regen Braking for Roller Coasters 

To read about our 2021 winners, please click here.

Published on May 15th, 2023

Last updated on May 15th, 2023