Laufer Lecture

The keynote lecture for Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering is named after the late Janos Laufer, a renowned fluids authority who was the founding chair of the Department of Aerospace Engineering (before it merged with Mechanical Engineering).

Past Speakers

Howard Stone
Donald R. Dixon ’69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Princeton University
“Thin-Film Flows: From Similarity Solutions to New Insights in Molecular Biology”

Learn more >>

Balakumar Balachandran
Department Chair and Minta Martin Professor of Mechanical Engineering
University of Maryland
“Nonlinear Dynamics with Noise”
Learn more >>

Charles Meneveau
Louis M. Sardella Professor of Mechanical Engineering, and Associate Director, Institute for Data Intensive Engineering and Science, Johns Hopkins University
“New analytical models for turbulence spectra and turbine wakes in wind farms”
Learn more >>

Clarence W. Rowley
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University
“Structure, Stability, and Simplicity in Complex Fluid Flows”
Learn more >>

Morteza Gharib
Hans W. Liepmann Professor of Aeronautics, Professor of Bioinspired Engineering, Director of Graduate Aerospace Laboratories, Vice Provost, Division of Engineering and Applied Science, California Institute of Technology
“On the Generation of Toroidal Micro-Plasmas in the Flow Field of Impinging Water-Jets”
Learn more >>

Harry L. Swinney
Sid Richardson Foundation Regents Chair
Department of Physics, College of Natural Sciences, University of Texas at Austin
“Internal Gravity Wave Energy in the Oceans”
Learn more >>

John A. Rogers
Swanlund Chair Professor
Department of Materials Science and Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign
“A Stretchy, Curvy Future for Electronics: From Brain Interfaces to Fly’s Eye Cameras”
Learn more >>

Patrick Huerre
Hydrodynamics Laboratory – LadHyx
CNRS – Ecole Polytechnique
“Amplifiers and Oscillators: A Hydronamic Stability Perspective”
Learn more >>

John Bush
Professor of Applied Mathematics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
“Hydrodynamic Quantum Analogues: Droplets Walking on the Impossible Pilot Wave”
Learn more >>

L. Mahadevan
Lola England de Valpine Professor of Applied Mathematics, Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
“On Growth and Form: Mathematics, Mechanics and Morphogenesis”
Learn more >>

Dr. Stephen H. Davis
McCormick School Professor
Walter P. Murphy Professor of Engineering Sciences and Applied Mathematics
“Control and Suppression of Interfacial Instabilities by Shear”

Elaine Oran, PhD.
Senior Scientist for Reactive Flow Physics
Naval Research Laboratory
“The Laminar Flame to Turbulent Flame to Detonation Transition: Studies of Non-Kolmogorov Turbulence and Stochasticity”
Learn more >>

Anatol Roshko (inaugural lecture)
“Reflections of the Turbulence Problem”
Learn more >>


Published on March 29th, 2017

Last updated on February 8th, 2024